10 Awards Given By The Government Of India List


Every country recognizes and honors the struggles committed by citizens. India also recognizes the struggles of citizens and honors them with various awards. They are given these awards in view of their contribution in various fields.

Awards given by Government of India – List of Awards given by Indian Government

Those areas mainly include science, sports, social causes and human welfare, entertainment etc. There is a panel of judges to nominate the award, who nominate based on various criteria.

These awards are given for the purpose of appreciating and honoring the best and commendable work done by citizens in various fields.

1. Bharat Ratna – Bharat Ratna

Bharat Ratna is the highest award in the country. This award is given to those citizens of India who have done extraordinary and incomparable work in the fields of literature, science, sports, social work and art. This award is made in the shape of a peepal leaf, on which the sun is also printed.

Bharat Ratna is written in Devanagari script on Peepal leaf. The award was first given to three citizens in 1954.

Some famous citizens who have received this award include Nelson Mandela, Sachin Tendulkar, Mother Teresa, Satyajit Rai, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi and many more.

2. Padma Vibhushan – Padma Vibhushan

Padma Vibhushan This is the second highest civilian honor of India for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by government employees. This award is round in shape with Padma on it. On the back of the award, Satyamev Jayate is written in Devanagari script.

The award was instituted in 1954 and firstly Nand Lal Bose, B.G. Kher and Whey K. Menon, was given this award. Sachin Tendulkar is the youngest citizen to have received this famous award, who has done extraordinary feats in Indian cricket.

3. Padma Bhushan – Padma Bhushan

It is the third highest civilian award in India that recognizes a high level of distinguished service to the nation in any field. The award was instituted on 2 January 1954 by Rajendra Prasad, the first President of independent India.

The design of this award is also similar to Padma Vibhushan Award. Radha Krishnan Gupta, Amar Nath Jha and M.S. Subbalakshmi was.

4. Padma Shri – Padma Shri

It is the fourth highest award in the country after Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan. This award was started in 1954 and the award has Padma Shri written in Devanagari script.

This award is embellished with stainless steel. It is awarded to the citizens of India in recognition of their extraordinary contribution in various fields including medicine, education, public affairs, art, science, literature etc.

This award is announced every year on Republic Day. Till date, 2913 people have been awarded this award.

5. Paramvir Chakra – Param Vir Chakra

It is the highest military award given to the country’s military personnel. This award is given to military personnel who live and bravely sacrifice their lives in battle.

This award means ‘the wheel of Param Bahadur’. Along with this award, many facilities and large amount of money are also given to the family of the soldier.

6. Arjuna Award – Arjuna Award

This award is given by the Government of India to the best performing sportspersons in the field of sports.

It was started in 1961 and along with this award, a bronze effigy of Arjun and cash is also given. To get this award, players of any sport should perform the best in the last three years.

7. Dadasaheb Phalke Award – Dadasaheb Phalke Award

It is the best award in the field of cinema and it is usually given during the National Film Awards. The citizens who get it are mostly associated with the film industry and this award is given to them in view of their contribution to Indian cinema.

This award has been given to many great personalities like Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, Asha Bhosle.

8. Ashok Chakra Award – Ashok Chakra

The Ashoka Chakra is the highest peacetime award, given to military personnel in view of their courage and sacrifice. This award is equivalent to Param Vir Chakra. This award can also be given to an ordinary civilian employee.

9. Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award – Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award

It is a science award, which is given on the basis of contributions made in the field of science such as medicine, chemistry, engineering, biology etc.

It was started in 1969 and this award is given a medal, which is made of golden lotus and is given cash as well.
Shashi Kapoor, Lata Mangeshkar, Yash Chopra, Manoj Kumar, Asha Bhosle etc. have been honored with this award.

10. Sahitya Academy Award – Sahitya Akademi Award

This is the best literary award, which is given to the authors for their matchless contribution in the field of literature. The award also includes cash amount. Its plaque has been designed by renowned filmmaker Satyajit Rai.

All of the above are the highest awards of our country, which are given after seeing the extraordinary work done by citizens in various fields.

Please Note: If you have more information, or if I wrote anything wrong then comment us below.

If you like our Information About Indian Nobel Prize winners, then we can share and share it on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *