Social media website Facebook has announced the removal of the location history feature for its users, but Facebook will continue to monitor users’ locations.
According to the foreign news agency, Facebook recently clarified in a notification sent to Android and iOS users that the website will soon remove features such as Nearby Friends, Live Location and Location History and Background. will give.
Read also: Facebook announces removal of location history feature
According to a Facebook spokesperson, the website will remove all features related to location history on May 31, 2022, and before that date, if anyone wants to go to the settings and download or delete all their location history, they are allowed to do so. However, after a certain period of time, the company will automatically delete all the history.
The spokesman confirmed that although the history features on Facebook will be removed on May 31, 2022, users will be able to download and re-download history from the app by deleting the app again by August 1, 2022.
The removal of location history features does not mean that Facebook will not monitor users’ locations.
According to the company, even after May 31, 2022, Facebook will retain all the information including the location history of the users for other purposes. However, their location history will not be made live nor will the users use the said feature on Facebook. Will be able to