Not all calls are for entertainment purposes. I can imagine the negative thoughts you might have when receiving a call from someone who is bothering you. Thankfully, you can block numbers on both Android and iPhone. But what happens when you block a number and the other person knows? Find the answer here. Start.
What happens to calls when you block someone
- 1 What happens to calls when you block someone
- 2 What happens to the message after blocking the number
- 3 What other apps are affected?
- 4 What happens when the blocked person calls you
- 5 Do other people know that you blocked them?
- 6 Does blocking a number remove it from your contacts
- 7 What happens after unlocking some
- 8 How to block numbers on Android phones
- 9 How to unblock a number on Android phone
- 10 How to block numbers on iPhone
- 11 How to unblock a number on iPhone
- 12 Bye bye unwanted calls
When you block a number, mostly regular phone calls are affected. Basically, when you block a number on your Android or iPhone, you won’t get regular phone calls from it. That is, calls from blocked numbers are automatically rejected.
On some networks, calls are sent to voicemail but don’t worry, you won’t get voicemail notifications either. So it is equivalent to not receiving the call at all. In short, blocking a number will prevent them from calling you.
However, blocking communication is only effective in one direction. Meaning, you can still contact the person blocked from your head, which means you can call them even if you have blocked them.
Tip: Check out 10+ ways to fix iPhone not receiving calls but it can be done.
What happens to the message after blocking the number
The next big impact of blocking a number is on SMS messages. When you block a number on Android or iPhone, the number cannot send you a regular text message (SMS or MMS). Although the message will be sent from the sender side, you will not receive the message.
Messages, like calls, have a one-way effect. You can message the blocked person, but you won’t get a response from the blocked contact.
What other apps are affected?
Blocking a number via the Phone app, contacts, or settings will only affect regular calls and messages on Android. The blocked number can still contact you on other apps like WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Snapchat, Instagram, etc. You need to block that person separately on these apps.
On iOS, however, things are a bit different as it also affects FaceTime and iMessage. That is, the blocked number cannot FaceTime or your iMessage on your iPhone. Furthermore, you won’t receive email from a blocked contact on Apple’s Email app, if an e-mail ID is associated with the blocked contact.
Aside from FaceTime, iMessage, and Email, no other apps are affected on iOS. You will still receive messages and calls on other apps like WhatsApp, Instagram, etc., from the blocked person.
Tip: Learn how to use FaceTime links to call people.
What happens when the blocked person calls you
When a blocked contact tries to call you, they will hear different messages based on your service provider. For example, some numbers may be greeted with pre-recorded messages such as busy number, unreachable number, unreachable number, etc., others will hear a ring before the call goes unanswered. disconnection action.
Do other people know that you blocked them?
Not really. Firstly, because they will hear the recorded message before they call you and their message is also shown as sent. Second, the contact won’t be notified or texted that you’ve blocked them.
Does blocking a number remove it from your contacts
No. Blocking a number won’t remove it from your contacts. If you decide to unblock the number in the future, the number will remain in your contacts.
What happens after unlocking some
After you unblock a number, the contact will regain its normal ability to call and text you. However, you will not receive messages sent when the number is blocked. Similarly, you cannot view call history details for blocked numbers after unblocking.
How to block numbers on Android phones
1. Open the Phone app on your Android phone.
2. Tap the contact you want to block. You may have to tap the profile picture to open the contact.
3. Tap the three-dot icon and press Block numbers.
How to unblock a number on Android phone
1. Open the Phone app.
2. Tap the three dots icon and select Settings.
3. Click Block numbers. Here you will see a list of blocked numbers. Tap the X or – icon next to the contact you want to unblock.
Tip: Check out other ways to unblock a number on your Android phone.
How to block numbers on iPhone
1. Launch the Phone app on your iPhone.
2. Open the contact you want to block. Scroll down on the contact info screen and tap Block this caller.
How to unblock a number on iPhone
1. Open Settings on your iPhone.
2. Go to Phone > Blocked Contacts.
3. You will see all blocked numbers. Knock on Edit at the top and tap the (-) icon next to the number you want to unblock.
Bye bye unwanted calls
I hope all your queries have been answered regarding what happens when you block a number on Android or iPhone. If you don’t want to take the difficult step of blocking someone, you can mute a number on iPhone and Android. And if you just want to block spam calls, you can do so with the help of Silence Unknown Callers feature on iPhone.
Above is information about How to block, unblock an Android phone number in few easy steps.If you have any questions, please feel free to ask NewsMenk.com in a comment below. I am happy to help you.